View previous topic :: View next topic |
Author |
Message |
amsyar
Joined: 15 Mar 2011 Posts: 9 Location: malaysia
|
Dc motor control |
Posted: Tue Mar 15, 2011 10:52 pm |
|
|
Hi everyone. Can somebody help me? I have a problem to control DC using PIC16F877A. I know I need to use motor driver. Currently I am using L293D to control the motor. But the problem is I do not know how to connect the Vss and Vs to the microcontroller. |
|
|
FvM
Joined: 27 Aug 2008 Posts: 2337 Location: Germany
|
|
Posted: Tue Mar 15, 2011 11:59 pm |
|
|
Quote: | I do not know how to connect the Vss and Vs to the microcontroller |
Vss is the logic supply, in most cases it would be connected to the 5V µC supply. Vs is is the motor supply and will be choosen according to the motor requirements. |
|
|
amsyar
Joined: 15 Mar 2011 Posts: 9 Location: malaysia
|
|
Posted: Wed Mar 16, 2011 1:02 am |
|
|
In Sk40C there are two supply right? Vdd and Vin. Can you tell me which one is connected to Vs and which one connected to Vss. |
|
|
FvM
Joined: 27 Aug 2008 Posts: 2337 Location: Germany
|
|
Posted: Wed Mar 16, 2011 1:15 am |
|
|
I guess, Vdd is the 5V processor supply. You have to find out yourself, if Vin is suitable as motor supply, we can't know. |
|
|
amsyar
Joined: 15 Mar 2011 Posts: 9 Location: malaysia
|
|
Posted: Wed Mar 16, 2011 2:09 am |
|
|
Can you share with me the source code to control DC motor? I am using MPLAB software. I have one more question. Did we need to connect ground to pin number 8 ? |
|
|
FvM
Joined: 27 Aug 2008 Posts: 2337 Location: Germany
|
|
Posted: Wed Mar 16, 2011 2:30 am |
|
|
Pin 8 of L293D? Acording to my datasheet it's Vs (motor supply voltage). |
|
|
amsyar
Joined: 15 Mar 2011 Posts: 9 Location: malaysia
|
|
Posted: Wed Mar 16, 2011 6:24 am |
|
|
I know that we need to connect power supply to pin number 8. but in some datasheet, I found that we need to connect pin 8 to Vs and ground. Is it true |
|
|
FvM
Joined: 27 Aug 2008 Posts: 2337 Location: Germany
|
|
Posted: Wed Mar 16, 2011 6:47 am |
|
|
Quote: | we need to connect pin 8 to Vs and ground |
How and? |
|
|
amsyar
Joined: 15 Mar 2011 Posts: 9 Location: malaysia
|
|
Posted: Wed Mar 16, 2011 7:03 am |
|
|
So that's mean we do not need to connect to ground? can you forward the datasheet to me? my email is as below
busyra_amsyar@yahoo.com
thanks for your kindness |
|
|
gpsmikey
Joined: 16 Nov 2010 Posts: 588 Location: Kirkland, WA
|
|
Posted: Wed Mar 16, 2011 12:55 pm |
|
|
You need to post a copy of your schematic -- frantically changing wires around is most likely to let the magic smoke out and there is no way to put it back in. To post an image, you need to have the image available on a public server. Then include the url to the image in your post and highlight the image url and click the "Img" button above the posting area. You will end up with the image as part of your post as below (this will date me - an old core memory card !! )
mikey _________________ mikey
-- you can't have too many gadgets or too much disk space !
old engineering saying: 1+1 = 3 for sufficiently large values of 1 or small values of 3 |
|
|
temtronic
Joined: 01 Jul 2010 Posts: 9217 Location: Greensville,Ontario
|
|
Posted: Wed Mar 16, 2011 1:51 pm |
|
|
I put many of them into PDP-8s a long time ago..... |
|
|
|