CCS C Software and Maintenance Offers
FAQFAQ   FAQForum Help   FAQOfficial CCS Support   SearchSearch  RegisterRegister 

ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

CCS does not monitor this forum on a regular basis.

Please do not post bug reports on this forum. Send them to support@ccsinfo.com

dsPIC33F can't divide or use float32

 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    CCS Forum Index -> General CCS C Discussion
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
daraos



Joined: 16 Oct 2008
Posts: 18
Location: Chile

View user's profile Send private message

dsPIC33F can't divide or use float32
PostPosted: Wed Jan 28, 2009 11:50 am     Reply with quote

Hi, I'm running a dsPIC33FJ128GP802 with this code:

Code:

#include <33FJ128GP802.h>

#rom  0xF80006={0b1111111101111000} //FOSCSEL
#rom  0xF80008={0b1111111100011011} //FOSC

#FUSES NOWDT                    //No Watch Dog Timer
#FUSES ICS0                     //ICD communication channel 0
#FUSES NOJTAG                   //JTAG disabled
#FUSES NOCOE                    //Device will reset into operational mode
#FUSES NODEBUG                  //No Debug mode for ICD
#FUSES PUT128                   //Power On Reset Timer value 128ms
#FUSES WPOSTS16                 //Watch Dog Timer PostScalar 1:32768
#FUSES WPRES128                 //Watch Dog Timer PreScalar 1:128
#FUSES NOWINDIS                 //Watch Dog Timer in Window mode
#FUSES NOPR                     //Pimary oscillaotr disabled
#FUSES OSCIO                    //OSC2 is clock output
#FUSES CKSFSM                 //Clock Switching is enabled, fail Safe clock monitor is disabled
#FUSES LPRC

#define   HREF   PIN_A3
#define VSYNC   PIN_A4
#define CLOCK   PIN_B10


void main(){
   long peso;
   while(1){//Espera el principio de una imagen
      peso=100;
      output_high(CLOCK);
      output_low(CLOCK);
      peso=peso/10;     //IF I COMMENT THIS LINE, IT WORKS
   }
}


and the behavior:
I see a square pulse in pin_b10, but if I comment the PESO=PESO/10 line, the b10 pin becomes high impedance (I can pull it up or down with a resistor)

I'm writting the configuration registers manually because most of the fuses give me an error.
The same behavior happens when I try to use floats.

Please help! I've lost days just to make it work, and now I can't divide :(

I'm using pcd 4.084
Douglas Kennedy



Joined: 07 Sep 2003
Posts: 755
Location: Florida

View user's profile Send private message AIM Address

PostPosted: Wed Jan 28, 2009 7:19 pm     Reply with quote

Could it be that the divide by 10 on peso adds many cpu cycles so there is a noticeable delay between the low and the next high. Removing the divide means the the high and low are very few CPU cycles apart and possibly this causes you to miss the change.
daraos



Joined: 16 Oct 2008
Posts: 18
Location: Chile

View user's profile Send private message

PostPosted: Thu Jan 29, 2009 9:30 am     Reply with quote

Douglas Kennedy wrote:
Could it be that the divide by 10 on peso adds many cpu cycles so there is a noticeable delay between the low and the next high. Removing the divide means the the high and low are very few CPU cycles apart and possibly this causes you to miss the change.


I think that the assembler generated gets stuck in a loop, I'm working at 40 MIPS, and it never switch from one state to the other. When I uncomment the division, instead of a square pulse, I get high impedance Confused

Has anyone been able to work with this dsPIC? or any other from the 33F family?
FvM



Joined: 27 Aug 2008
Posts: 2337
Location: Germany

View user's profile Send private message

PostPosted: Thu Jan 29, 2009 4:26 pm     Reply with quote

I can't see, that the procesor is stuck in a loop. I tried with MPLAB SIM, which can be expected to reproduce PIC behaviour rather accurately. But the square wave duty cycle is 2/500 with division instruction in effect, the pulse may be missed.

I found, that the NOIOL1WAY and NOIESO #fuses are rejected due to a corrupted device editor file in V4.084 (empty lines in the middle of fuses definition), they are accepted after fixing the entries.

Your #rom statements are apparently producing legal configuration data (I wasn't aware of this option), but are not according to your #fuses. Particularly #FUSES LPRC is different from FRC selection coded in your #rom statement.
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    CCS Forum Index -> General CCS C Discussion All times are GMT - 6 Hours
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group