CCS C Software and Maintenance Offers
FAQFAQ   FAQForum Help   FAQOfficial CCS Support   SearchSearch  RegisterRegister 

ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

CCS does not monitor this forum on a regular basis.

Please do not post bug reports on this forum. Send them to support@ccsinfo.com

Problem with toupper

 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    CCS Forum Index -> General CCS C Discussion
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
ECACE



Joined: 24 Jul 2006
Posts: 94

View user's profile Send private message

Problem with toupper
PostPosted: Wed Dec 17, 2008 1:52 pm     Reply with quote

I am having trouble getting toupper to work correctly. The code below works when I manually go through each char and convert it. But if I use the for loop and try to convert it, it does not work. It compiles fine, but for example if I put in "ht" which is one of the commands in lower case, I would expect to get back HT, but instead I get ht. So, it looks like you can't use a for loop for converting chars with toupper??? That doesn't sound right. Please tell me I am just doing something stupid here.

I want to be able to use the commented out for loop to do the conversion, instead I am having to do the manual: COMMAND[0] = toupper(COMMAND[0]);
Otherwise it just isn't converting it. Entering upper case returns uppercase and entering lower case returns lower case.

Also, at the begining of the program, I do have:

#device PASS_STRINGS = IN_RAM //Needed for String functions to work

and I have included the string headers:
#include <string.h> //Header file for string manipulations
#include <stdlib.h> //Header File for ascii manipulations




Code:
printf("Enter command and press <ENTER> (attributes will be next)\r\n");  //Get command and attributes in string
gets(COMMAND);

//Variables below are declared as global in the begining of the program
//char                    COMMAND[5];             //Holds ascii response from user in menu
//char                    COMMAND_TEMP[5];        //Holds ascii response from user in menu
//char                    ATTRIB[4];              //Holds ascii response from user in menu


//printf("\r\nhere's what I got before conversion: %c%c%c%c%c ",COMMAND[0],COMMAND[1],COMMAND[2],COMMAND[3],COMMAND[4]);

//   for(i = 0 ; i < 3 ; i++ )                               //Convert COMMAND_TEMP to all uppercase
//   {
//   COMMAND[i] = toupper(COMMAND[i]);
//   }

   COMMAND[0] = toupper(COMMAND[0]);
   COMMAND[1] = toupper(COMMAND[1]);
   COMMAND[2] = toupper(COMMAND[2]);
   COMMAND[3] = toupper(COMMAND[3]);
   
//printf("\r\nhere's what I got after conversion : %c%c%c%c%c ",COMMAND[0],COMMAND[1],COMMAND[2],COMMAND[3],COMMAND[4]);


Processor = 16F690
Compiler = PCWH
Version = 4.083

Thanks in advance for any help you can give.
_________________
A HW Engineer 'trying' to do SW !!! Run!!!
PCM programmer



Joined: 06 Sep 2003
Posts: 21708

View user's profile Send private message

PostPosted: Wed Dec 17, 2008 2:41 pm     Reply with quote

See this thread. It has several solutions.
http://www.ccsinfo.com/forum/viewtopic.php?t=26488

Another solution is to use a temp variable:
Code:
#include <16F690.h> 
#fuses INTRC_IO, NOWDT, BROWNOUT, PUT, MCLR 
#use delay(clock=8000000) 
#use rs232(baud=9600, xmit=PIN_B7, rcv=PIN_B5, ERRORS) 

char COMMAND[5] = {"ht"};   

//======================================== 
void main() 

int8 i;
int8 temp;

for(i = 0; i < 3; i++)   
   {
    temp = toupper(COMMAND[i]);
    COMMAND[i] = temp;
   }

printf(COMMAND);

while(1);
}

I don't know if CCS ever fixed this bug. I don't know if anyone ever
reported it to them.
ECACE



Joined: 24 Jul 2006
Posts: 94

View user's profile Send private message

PostPosted: Wed Dec 17, 2008 2:49 pm     Reply with quote

In your example then, would I need to have all menu possibilitys defined:
char COMMAND[5] = {"ht"}
...
...
...

One for every possible menu entry? If that's the case, I wouldn't want to do that. I prefer the one you had in the post:

Code:
char my_toupper(char c)
{
if(c >= 'a' && c <= 'z')
   c -= 0x20;
return(c);
}


That was quite awhile ago, I would have thought CCS would have fixed it by now. Oh well. Thanks for the code snippet. I will plug it in and see if it works.
_________________
A HW Engineer 'trying' to do SW !!! Run!!!
ECACE



Joined: 24 Jul 2006
Posts: 94

View user's profile Send private message

PostPosted: Tue Jan 06, 2009 9:28 pm     Reply with quote

Old post, but I have been going back and forth with CCS on this one. They have found the bug and reported back that it will be fixed in the next update. Fingers crossed and hope it works!
_________________
A HW Engineer 'trying' to do SW !!! Run!!!
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    CCS Forum Index -> General CCS C Discussion All times are GMT - 6 Hours
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group