CCS C Software and Maintenance Offers
FAQFAQ   FAQForum Help   FAQOfficial CCS Support   SearchSearch  RegisterRegister 

ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

CCS does not monitor this forum on a regular basis.

Please do not post bug reports on this forum. Send them to support@ccsinfo.com

Problem: How to jump the delay

 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    CCS Forum Index -> General CCS C Discussion
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
eiji



Joined: 03 Sep 2008
Posts: 9

View user's profile Send private message

Problem: How to jump the delay
PostPosted: Tue Oct 07, 2008 2:26 am     Reply with quote

Hello all

I have some confusion here, let see i built a program to ON the LED within 10 seconds using delay_ms(10000). But can i stop it when it was executing without having to wait 10 seconds? It's not to reset but to go to the next instruction. Thank you for help Smile
MicroManiac



Joined: 21 Aug 2008
Posts: 34

View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail MSN Messenger

PostPosted: Tue Oct 07, 2008 3:50 am     Reply with quote

I don't know if I understand you right, but you cannot stop the delay_ms until it is done.
If you want to do it manually, write your own delay using the timer1 maybe or another method.
_________________
"Any intelligent fool can make things bigger, more complex, and more violent. It takes a touch of genius -- and a lot of courage -- to move in the opposite direction."
Albert Einstein
eiji



Joined: 03 Sep 2008
Posts: 9

View user's profile Send private message

PostPosted: Tue Oct 07, 2008 4:02 am     Reply with quote

do u meant using interrupt? basically that is my plan but actually I don't really understand the function of interrupt. I'm very beginner in PIC and i learnt it by myself. I've search through net but it seems more complicated. I really hope someone can help me on this, bcoz i only need to build a simple program and circuit. Thanks in advance
MicroManiac



Joined: 21 Aug 2008
Posts: 34

View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail MSN Messenger

PostPosted: Tue Oct 07, 2008 4:11 am     Reply with quote

i'll help you later today but tell me which pic are you using? because using the timer interrupt you need to choose a good clock in order to have correct timing
_________________
"Any intelligent fool can make things bigger, more complex, and more violent. It takes a touch of genius -- and a lot of courage -- to move in the opposite direction."
Albert Einstein
eiji



Joined: 03 Sep 2008
Posts: 9

View user's profile Send private message

PostPosted: Tue Oct 07, 2008 4:33 am     Reply with quote

Thank you very much sir:) I'm using 16F877. I looking forward for your next post sir, thank you so much
MicroManiac



Joined: 21 Aug 2008
Posts: 34

View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail MSN Messenger

PostPosted: Tue Oct 07, 2008 5:09 am     Reply with quote

this is the Code i wrote, i haven't tested it but it should work
Code:

#include <16F877.h>
#device adc=8

#FUSES NOWDT                    //No Watch Dog Timer
#FUSES XT                       //Crystal osc <= 4mhz for PCM/PCH , 3mhz to 10 mhz for PCD
#FUSES NOPUT                    //No Power Up Timer
#FUSES NOPROTECT                //Code not protected from reading
#FUSES NOBROWNOUT               //No brownout reset
#FUSES NOLVP                    //No low voltage prgming, B3(PIC16) or B5(PIC18) used for I/O
#FUSES NOCPD                    //No EE protection
#FUSES NOWRT                    //Program memory not write protected
#FUSES NODEBUG                  //No Debug mode for ICD

#use delay(clock=4000000)

#define LED PIN_B1

int16 Off = 0;
int8 Count = 153;


#int_TIMER0
void  TIMER0_isr(void)

   count = count -1;
   if (count = 0 )
   {
     output_low(LED);
     disable_interrupts (INT_TIMER0);
     
   }
}



void main()
{

   setup_adc_ports(NO_ANALOGS);
   setup_adc(ADC_OFF);
   setup_psp(PSP_DISABLED);
   setup_spi(SPI_SS_DISABLED);
   setup_timer_0(RTCC_INTERNAL|RTCC_DIV_256);
   setup_timer_1(T1_DISABLED);
   setup_timer_2(T2_DISABLED,0,1);
   disable_interrupts(INT_TIMER0);
   enable_interrupts(GLOBAL);

   clear_interrupt(INT_TIMER0);
   enable_interrupts(INT_TIMER0);
   output_high(LED);
   
   while (1)
   {
      if (Off)
      {
         disable_interrupts(INT_TIMER0);
         output_low(LED);
      }
     
      if (!input(PIN_B0))  // assume that PORTB.0 is pulled high
      {
         Off=1;
      }
   }
   

}


I assumed in the code that you used a 4MHz clock which means that each instruction is taking 1us to complete. On this basis, i used the timer interrupt with a 256 division which means that the timer overflow will happen after 65.5 ms which can lead to an interrupt.
than i counted how many interrupts do i need to get 10000 ms which led me to 153 which is a bit more than 10 seconds. i used this in a count and when this count reaches 0 this means the 10 seconds have passed and the LED should be off.
I also pulled up the pin1 of PORTB in order and connected it to a push button. when this button is clicked, the index " OFF: will become "1" which will stop the timer and will clear the LED
_________________
"Any intelligent fool can make things bigger, more complex, and more violent. It takes a touch of genius -- and a lot of courage -- to move in the opposite direction."
Albert Einstein
RLScott



Joined: 10 Jul 2007
Posts: 465

View user's profile Send private message

Re: Problem: How to jump the delay
PostPosted: Tue Oct 07, 2008 6:16 am     Reply with quote

If you want to have a 10-second delay that can be cut short by some external event, then do something like this:
Code:

   Countdown1 = 12345;
   while(Countdown1)
   {
      if(some external input or event)
          break;
      delay(123);
      Countdown1--;
   }

You would have to experiment with the two delay counts (12345 and 123) to make the whole loop take 10 seconds. Or you could look at the assembly code generated and count instruction cycles to calculate the delay exactly.
_________________
Robert Scott
Real-Time Specialties
Embedded Systems Consulting
Wayne_



Joined: 10 Oct 2007
Posts: 681

View user's profile Send private message

PostPosted: Tue Oct 07, 2008 7:30 am     Reply with quote

If you don't need it to be exactly 10 seconds you could do this

Code:


int16 i;

i = 10000;
while(i--) {
  if (!input(PIN_B0))
    break;  // exit the loop before the 10 seconds is up
  delay_ms(1);
}

Rohit de Sa



Joined: 09 Nov 2007
Posts: 282
Location: India

View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website

PostPosted: Wed Oct 08, 2008 4:00 am     Reply with quote

I'm not at my PC right now, and hence don't have the manual with me, but if I remember right, CCS has a set_timerX() instruction which will allow you to preset the timer to any value. Once the timer rolls over it will trigger the interrupt. You could preset the timer value here.
Code:
#int_timer1
{
     .
     .
     //put user code here
     .
     .
     set_timer1(preset_value)  //this presets the timer such that
                               //10 seconds is multiple of
                               //(65535-preset_value)
}

You will have to figure out how many instruction clocks it takes for the required delay, so this is a bit tedious, but it enables accurate delays. Do note that setting the timer (ie, any write to the timer register) causes it to NOT increment for the next two instructions. So if the timer is required to be preset to 150, you must actually set it to 152 (this is if you are not using a prescaler; using a prescaler complicates things a lot, and I don't think its possible to use the above technique).

Rohit
RLScott



Joined: 10 Jul 2007
Posts: 465

View user's profile Send private message

PostPosted: Wed Oct 08, 2008 6:16 am     Reply with quote

Rohit de Sa wrote:

set_timer1(preset_value)
...Do note that setting the timer (ie, any write to the timer register) causes it to NOT increment for the next two instructions. So if the timer is required to be preset to 150, you must actually set it to 152 )

This is only true of Timer 0. Timer 1 has no such 2-cycle pause.
_________________
Robert Scott
Real-Time Specialties
Embedded Systems Consulting
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    CCS Forum Index -> General CCS C Discussion All times are GMT - 6 Hours
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group