View previous topic :: View next topic |
Author |
Message |
Guest
|
1 Master - Multiple Slaves |
Posted: Mon Jan 29, 2007 1:56 pm |
|
|
Hello
I need to implemente a network with one master and 10 slaves. Eatch slave (16F628A) have a temperature sensor and the master(18F4550) will ask eatch slave for the value of themperature and print on a lcd (Maybe write on a MMC/SD card too).
I know that ccs compilier has rs485 driver and thats i choose.
Do you think it's the best and easy way of doing it?
Thanks |
|
|
Neutone
Joined: 08 Sep 2003 Posts: 839 Location: Houston
|
|
Posted: Mon Jan 29, 2007 2:58 pm |
|
|
How far apart are the slaves? How fast does it have to run? Maybe you could use I2C. |
|
|
kender
Joined: 09 Aug 2004 Posts: 768 Location: Silicon Valley
|
|
Posted: Mon Jan 29, 2007 3:50 pm |
|
|
Neutone wrote: | How fast does it have to run? Maybe you could use I2C. |
Yes, with short distances and not a lot of EMI that would be more expedient than RS485. If the slave PIC doesn't have hardware I2C, it will be very difficult to write a software I2C slave routine. Does 16F628A have hardware I2C? |
|
|
ckielstra
Joined: 18 Mar 2004 Posts: 3680 Location: The Netherlands
|
|
Posted: Mon Jan 29, 2007 4:13 pm |
|
|
The 16F628A doesn't have a hardware I2C module integrated, so I2C is not an advisable option. This PIC does have a UART module, so RS485 seems like a good option (depending on speed and distance requirements). |
|
|
Guest
|
|
Posted: Tue Jan 30, 2007 7:35 am |
|
|
Thanks for the reply
The slave board will work at 4mhz (int osc) and the Master at (20mhz).
6 of the slaves will be at 15 meters and 3 at 60 meters and one ate 100meters.
Can i use rs485 with sn75176a?
thanks again. |
|
|
Guest
|
|
Posted: Tue Jan 30, 2007 2:03 pm |
|
|
seems like a situation suitable for the dallas one wire bus and dallas thermocrons. |
|
|
|