CCS C Software and Maintenance Offers
FAQFAQ   FAQForum Help   FAQOfficial CCS Support   SearchSearch  RegisterRegister 

ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

CCS does not monitor this forum on a regular basis.

Please do not post bug reports on this forum. Send them to support@ccsinfo.com

18F8722 ICD2 debug problem with H4 (pll)
Goto page 1, 2  Next
 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    CCS Forum Index -> General CCS C Discussion
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
tophe59



Joined: 13 Oct 2005
Posts: 32
Location: France

View user's profile Send private message

18F8722 ICD2 debug problem with H4 (pll)
PostPosted: Sun Nov 27, 2005 10:57 am     Reply with quote

When i use this bit configuration: No probleme

Code:
#include "18F8722.h"
#use delay (clock=10000000)

#Fuses hs,NOPROTECT//,H4 //hs
#Fuses NOBROWNOUT
#Fuses NOWDT
#Fuses NOCPD,NOSTVREN,DEBUG,NOLVP,NOWRT
#Fuses NOCPB,NOEBTRB,NOEBTR,CCP2C1,NOWRTD
#Fuses NOWRTB,NOFCMEN,NOPUT
#Fuses NOLPT1OSC,MCLR //NOMCLR
#Fuses NOXINST,MCU//,CPU,CPU_BB,EMCU,WAIT,NOWAIT,BW16
//#Fuses BW8,ABW8,ABW12,ABW16,ABW20,ECCPE,ECCPH


When i use this bit configuration: Problem


Code:
#include "18F8722.h"
#use delay (clock=40000000)

#Fuses hs,NOPROTECT,H4 //hs
#Fuses NOBROWNOUT
#Fuses NOWDT
#Fuses NOCPD,NOSTVREN,DEBUG,NOLVP,NOWRT
#Fuses NOCPB,NOEBTRB,NOEBTR,CCP2C1,NOWRTD
#Fuses NOWRTB,NOFCMEN,NOPUT
#Fuses NOLPT1OSC,MCLR //NOMCLR
#Fuses NOXINST,MCU//,CPU,CPU_BB,EMCU,WAIT,NOWAIT,BW16
//#Fuses BW8,ABW8,ABW12,ABW16,ABW20,ECCPE,ECCPH


No compilation error but when programming :

MPLAB ICD 2 Ready
Programming Target...
...Validating configuration fields
...Erasing Part
...Programming Program Memory (0x0 - 0x3C7F)
...Loading DebugExecutive
...Programming DebugExecutive
...Programming Debug Vector
...Programming RSBUG
Verifying...
...Program Memory
...Debug Executive
...Debug Vector
...Verify Succeeded
Programming Configuration Bits
.. Config Memory
Verifying configuration memory...
...Verify Succeeded
Connecting to debug executive
ICD0083: Target not in debug mode, unable to perform operation
MPLAB ICD 2 Ready


Help me please Crying or Very sad
PCM programmer



Joined: 06 Sep 2003
Posts: 21708

View user's profile Send private message

PostPosted: Sun Nov 27, 2005 2:44 pm     Reply with quote

From the MPLAB ICD2 Help:
Quote:
Care should be taken when programming the PLL.
The PLL only changes when power is first applied to the chip. If you
are programming the PLL for the first time, remove power from the
PIC18 part after programming and reapply for the PLL to be enabled
.
If you are reprogramming the device from PLL mode to another mode,
first reprogram with PLL off, then remove power and reapply.


From the MPLAB ICD2 Help FAQ:
Quote:
Q: Why do I have problems when configuring the PLL Oscillator?
MPLAB ICD 2 gets "hung up."
A: This is a requirement of the actual PICmicro. After programming the
configuration bits for the PLL Oscillator, power needs to be removed
then re-applied to the target.
If this is not done, the target PICmicro
MCU will not have a clock. With no clock, debug mode will not
function.
Also, if power is not removed and reconnected when
switching to PLL mode, the device may run, but without the PLL multiplier.



Quote:
#Fuses hs,NOPROTECT,H4 //hs
Help me please

You have both the HS and the H4 fuses enabled in the line above.
You should only have one of them. Don't use lower case for the
fuses. It's easier to see the settings if you use upper case.
tophe59



Joined: 13 Oct 2005
Posts: 32
Location: France

View user's profile Send private message

PostPosted: Mon Nov 28, 2005 12:14 am     Reply with quote

Thanks PCM Very Happy

I testing but that not work. I program, disconnect all power and icd cable but after reconnect and reprogram the same message appear:

Quote:
ICD0083: Target not in debug mode, unable to perform operation
PCM programmer



Joined: 06 Sep 2003
Posts: 21708

View user's profile Send private message

PostPosted: Mon Nov 28, 2005 1:13 am     Reply with quote

What's your version of MPLAB ? Some people are reporting problems
with Debug mode with the latest versions of MPLAB, over on the
Microchip forum. See the link below:

Link to articles on ICD0083 error on the MPLAB forum


Last edited by PCM programmer on Mon Nov 28, 2005 1:19 am; edited 1 time in total
tophe59



Joined: 13 Oct 2005
Posts: 32
Location: France

View user's profile Send private message

PostPosted: Mon Nov 28, 2005 1:19 am     Reply with quote

7.22 so the latest ... Crying or Very sad

i searching on microchip forum ...
PCM programmer



Joined: 06 Sep 2003
Posts: 21708

View user's profile Send private message

PostPosted: Mon Nov 28, 2005 1:21 am     Reply with quote

Click on the link I posted in my message above. It takes you to all
the articles on ICD0083 errors (that also mention the H4 fuse) in the
MPLAB forum.
MikeValencia



Joined: 04 Aug 2004
Posts: 238
Location: Chicago

View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Yahoo Messenger

PostPosted: Mon Nov 28, 2005 8:54 am     Reply with quote

I've gotten that error in the past even if i wasn't using PLLx4.

I've corrected it by going to (in MPLAB):

Project --> Build Options --> Project --> CCS C Compiler -->
and then unchecking the box "Compile for use with ICD Debugger". If that failed i even went to "Debug" - NONE. However, i have it working with COFF format at the moment (not sure if the COFF vs. NONE checkmark has anything to do with it)
tophe59



Joined: 13 Oct 2005
Posts: 32
Location: France

View user's profile Send private message

PostPosted: Mon Nov 28, 2005 12:14 pm     Reply with quote

i have tested with or without :"Compile for use with ICD Debugger" or COFF vs. NONE. ( Powered Off and on after each changes)

not working Crying or Very sad
drolleman
Guest







PostPosted: Mon Nov 28, 2005 12:35 pm     Reply with quote

when you are running in h4 mode the power consumtion is higher, check the wave form from the crystal if it is still the same ampitude, also placing hf caps next to the power pins also helps
tophe59



Joined: 13 Oct 2005
Posts: 32
Location: France

View user's profile Send private message

PostPosted: Mon Nov 28, 2005 11:15 pm     Reply with quote

PCM programmer wrote:
Quote:
#Fuses hs,NOPROTECT,H4 //hs

You have both the HS and the H4 fuses enabled in the line above.
You should only have one of them.


4x PLL is not link with HS but can be link with internal oscillator. It's true ?
PCM programmer



Joined: 06 Sep 2003
Posts: 21708

View user's profile Send private message

PostPosted: Mon Nov 28, 2005 11:48 pm     Reply with quote

The compiler uses the last oscillator fuse setting that it sees in the line.
It scans the line from left to right. So in this line it will use the H4
setting:
#Fuses hs,NOPROTECT,H4 //hs

The reason I mentioned it is because if you have both settings
in one line, it looks messy. It's cleaner to have only the setting
that you intend to use.
tophe59



Joined: 13 Oct 2005
Posts: 32
Location: France

View user's profile Send private message

PostPosted: Sun Dec 04, 2005 12:35 pm     Reply with quote

That does not work yet. Crying or Very sad

Somebody can indicate the fuse for the internal oscillator + PLL ??
tophe59



Joined: 13 Oct 2005
Posts: 32
Location: France

View user's profile Send private message

PostPosted: Sat Dec 10, 2005 2:53 am     Reply with quote

That working now !!! Thank's for all !!

in fuses configuation if i write:

HS,H4 : Not work
H4,HS : Work Exclamation
tophe59



Joined: 13 Oct 2005
Posts: 32
Location: France

View user's profile Send private message

PostPosted: Mon Dec 12, 2005 2:04 am     Reply with quote

bad news. It run at 10Mhz Embarassed Crying or Very sad
asmallri



Joined: 12 Aug 2004
Posts: 1634
Location: Perth, Australia

View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website

PostPosted: Mon Dec 12, 2005 3:18 am     Reply with quote

As mentioned previously in this thread, the fuses HS and H4 are mutually exclusive.

If using H4 then you MUST power cycle the PIC the first time the fuse is set as the H4 PLL fuse is only acted on at power up.
_________________
Regards, Andrew

http://www.brushelectronics.com/software
Home of Ethernet, SD card and Encrypted Serial Bootloaders for PICs!!
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    CCS Forum Index -> General CCS C Discussion All times are GMT - 6 Hours
Goto page 1, 2  Next
Page 1 of 2

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group