CCS C Software and Maintenance Offers
FAQFAQ   FAQForum Help   FAQOfficial CCS Support   SearchSearch  RegisterRegister 

ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

CCS does not monitor this forum on a regular basis.

Please do not post bug reports on this forum. Send them to support@ccsinfo.com

why am i ruining 16f628 chips???

 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    CCS Forum Index -> General CCS C Discussion
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
buckeyes1997
Guest







why am i ruining 16f628 chips???
PostPosted: Sun Dec 12, 2004 7:00 pm     Reply with quote

okay i got a new order of 4 chips and have managed to ruin 2 already. the problem is very bizzare. i have a USB programmer that works perfectly with other chips ive tried but i cannot seem to program the 628 more than once.

if i write the code to it and then plug it into the circuit it works and displays to the LCD until i remove power. then when i reapply power it works fine again. when i remove the chip and try to burn updated code to it the programmer says it cannot recognize the chip and from then on the chip doesnt do anything....even in the circuit.

what could be wrong with this? am i somehow turning a fuse on that wouldnt let me reprogram or something? it has me scratching my head..

thanks
matt
ninjanick



Joined: 25 May 2004
Posts: 25

View user's profile Send private message

PostPosted: Mon Dec 13, 2004 1:39 am     Reply with quote

Do you have the PROTECT fuse set? Try without if you do and see if you have the same issue. Also, are you powering the device from the ICD or a separate power source? Check your MCLR pin.
arunb



Joined: 08 Sep 2003
Posts: 492
Location: India

View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail

RE
PostPosted: Mon Dec 13, 2004 1:43 am     Reply with quote

Did you get the supply pins correct. Pin 14 goes to +5V and Pin 5 to ground.

Also ensure the supply is +5 Volts.

Also ensure you are not driving +5 Volts to pins configured as outputs.

thanks
arun
buckeyes1997
Guest







PostPosted: Mon Dec 13, 2004 1:41 pm     Reply with quote

hey guys thanks for the suggestions.

i connected the mclr pin thru a 10k to +5v and ground it to reset the pic. i thought i turned all code protection fuses off and am fairly sure i did that correctly. i would think that the circuit would fry the chip after say 5 minutes if it was a wiring issue with the lcd. the only other thing is the programmer. i use a USB programmer to burn the chips. it is recommended to run on 16v but i have been using 12v without any problems. even at 12v i can burn the 628's the first time without any problems and i was able to burn/reburn the 16f84s all day on 12v so i dont think that is the problem.

are these chips more prone to static than the older type or something?
Mark



Joined: 07 Sep 2003
Posts: 2838
Location: Atlanta, GA

View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail

PostPosted: Mon Dec 13, 2004 2:09 pm     Reply with quote

Well did you try the programmer at 16V? Also, call Microchip tech support and tell them what you are seeing. What kind of programmer is it?
Chas
Guest







PostPosted: Mon Dec 13, 2004 2:16 pm     Reply with quote

What kind of programmer are you using? You say it is a USB programmer, but what brand and model? Also, how about showing us the fuse settings that you are using?
buckeyes1997
Guest







PostPosted: Mon Dec 13, 2004 3:14 pm     Reply with quote

Code:
#include <16F628.h>
#use delay(clock=4000000)
#fuses NOWDT,XT, PUT, NOPROTECT, NOBROWNOUT, MCLR, NOLVP, NOCPD


i am using a kit150 usb programmer from www.kitsrus.com
PCM programmer



Joined: 06 Sep 2003
Posts: 21708

View user's profile Send private message

PostPosted: Mon Dec 13, 2004 3:50 pm     Reply with quote

Here's the schematic.
http://www.kitsrus.com/gif/k150_sch.gif
They're using a 7812 regulator. Here's the data sheet:
http://www.national.com/ds/LM/LM340.pdf
The dropout voltage is 2.0 volts. The KIT150 schematic shows
a silicon diode on the ground pin, to raise the output to +12.6v.
So you would need a minimum of 14.6 volts input. Do you
have that ? I'd suggest you get a 16v power supply as spec'ed
by the kit.

Edited to add:
Actually, he's also got a reverse-protection diode in series
with the 12v input pin, so you really need 15.2 volts minimum.
If you're using a 12v, 500ma wall transformer, then it probably
really puts out somewhere between 14.5 and 16.5 volts, depending
on the load. It might be enough, or it might not. You should
measure the output voltage of your power supply with a meter.
If it's not at least 15.2 volts, you need to get another power supply.
Mark



Joined: 07 Sep 2003
Posts: 2838
Location: Atlanta, GA

View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail

PostPosted: Mon Dec 13, 2004 4:11 pm     Reply with quote

Quote:
You should
measure the output voltage of your power supply with a meter.
If it's not at least 15.2 volts, you need to get another power supply.


And PCM Programmer means when the power supply is loaded.
buckeyes1997
Guest







PostPosted: Wed Dec 15, 2004 12:50 pm     Reply with quote

well that would explain why it works perfectly with the 16f84 but why does it consistantly work the first time with the 628's?? after the first time it doesnt even recognize the chip and it is actually damaged because even my other programmer wont read/burn it after that. i will try burning one and removing it then sitting it on my desk for 10 minutes and then try to reprogram it. that should rule out the external circuit doing any damage to it.

i will try measuring the voltage with it loaded. im not sure where ill be looking for those voltages since they wont be on the Vss/Vdd pins right? which pins should have the 16v on them and is it only while programming it??

thanks guys
matt
PCM programmer



Joined: 06 Sep 2003
Posts: 21708

View user's profile Send private message

PostPosted: Wed Dec 15, 2004 1:08 pm     Reply with quote

You should measure the voltage at the input power connector to
the Kitrus board. Measure it right at the pins, before it goes through
any components on the board.
asmallri



Joined: 12 Aug 2004
Posts: 1634
Location: Perth, Australia

View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website

PostPosted: Thu Dec 16, 2004 1:01 am     Reply with quote

buckeyes1997 wrote:
.... but why does it consistantly work the first time with the 628's??


Because the first time you program it the chip is already blank
_________________
Regards, Andrew

http://www.brushelectronics.com/software
Home of Ethernet, SD card and Encrypted Serial Bootloaders for PICs!!
buckeyes1997
Guest







PostPosted: Thu Dec 16, 2004 7:04 pm     Reply with quote

you guys are all geiuses. turns out the 12v was enough to burn the chip the first time but no enough to erase it the next time. i was able to increase the voltage to around 16v and now all is well. well at least with the programmer..ha.

many thanks
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    CCS Forum Index -> General CCS C Discussion All times are GMT - 6 Hours
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group