View previous topic :: View next topic |
Author |
Message |
Ttelmah
Joined: 11 Mar 2010 Posts: 19504
|
|
Posted: Sun Apr 03, 2016 12:54 am |
|
|
I currently have about thirty IDE versions all available on my system.
You just install to different directories, and then on the new compiler remove the file 'ccsdownload.exe' (I just rename it). This is the file that once launched starts 'automatically' keeping the compiler up to date, looking for new versions and downloading them. With this disabled, you have to go every few weeks and pull down the new version yourself, but can then install anywhere you want.
Then keep your individual 'projects' in their own directories, and if you want to switch compilers, delete the .pjt, and .ccspjt files for the code, and open the main .c file with the compiler you want. Without the project files, this will then default to using it's own include files, and create new project files.
I have a folder with shortcuts to .cmd files, that automatically delete the project files, and launch whatever compiler I want. So I can switch compiler versions in less than a second. |
|
|
PCM programmer
Joined: 06 Sep 2003 Posts: 21708
|
|
Posted: Sun Apr 03, 2016 1:04 am |
|
|
Right but he doesn't want two IDE versions. He wants a cheap way to
upgrade. He wants to use the command line compilers with MPLAB v8.92.
BUT, he wants to still use his old v3.249 IDE with the Wizard to make
starter files for his projects, which he will then compile with vs. 5.056
in MPLAB. |
|
|
Ttelmah
Joined: 11 Mar 2010 Posts: 19504
|
|
Posted: Sun Apr 03, 2016 4:32 am |
|
|
All the wizard does, is create a .h, and a .c file. These can be compiled with any compiler. Once you touch them with an IDE, a .PJT (and/or CCSPJT) file gets created for these (CCSPJT for the newer compilers). Delete these, and you are back to just a xxx.c and xxx.h file that anything can compile. |
|
|
temtronic
Joined: 01 Jul 2010 Posts: 9225 Location: Greensville,Ontario
|
|
Posted: Sun Apr 03, 2016 5:12 am |
|
|
I had a quick look at what the Wizard does and it seems like a 'cheat' or 'crutch' to me. Instead of the programmer reading the manual to decide what IS required, he merely pushes the mouse around, pointing and clicking 'options' to configure the PIC program. HOPEFULLY the Wizard is flawless and selects the proper stuff to make it work right the first time.
Maybe I've misread what it does but if you can get the 1Hz LED program working after reading the manual aren't you better off? Typically you only use 2 or 3 PIC type (esp. if student),so you should get to 'know' them very fast!
I suppose it's a 'sign of the times', the 'two thumbs' approach to programming but I prefer to learn by doing, building on what I code/compile/test.
Jay |
|
|
Ttelmah
Joined: 11 Mar 2010 Posts: 19504
|
|
Posted: Sun Apr 03, 2016 6:30 am |
|
|
It's actually the sort of crutch that has a polished metal tip, so if you start using it, on hard surfaces, you will slip.....
I think in general it takes longer to generate a project with it, than without it. |
|
|
gjs_rsdi
Joined: 06 Feb 2006 Posts: 468 Location: Bali
|
|
Posted: Sun Apr 03, 2016 12:29 pm |
|
|
PCM programmer, Ttelmah and temtronic, thanks for the answers and time spent.
I understand all you have written, I will make a few "experiments" to implement your advice's then decide what to buy.
I am using 16F648A and want to move to 16F1847
and from 18F2520 to 18F26K22, moved successfully in the past from 16F876 to 18F2520.
I am using usually the code/compile/tested codes (as temtronic) I made in the past. Will have to work on the two new chips to get there.
Best wishes
Joe |
|
|
gjs_rsdi
Joined: 06 Feb 2006 Posts: 468 Location: Bali
|
|
Posted: Tue Apr 05, 2016 11:05 pm |
|
|
Hi
Downloaded the 45 Demo CCS V5.056
Installed in CCSDemo folder under program files.
Used the CCS wizard to make a project with 16F1847
Used MPLAB wizard to make a new MPLAB project including the .c and .h
from CCS wizard
If want to compile, starting again CCS installation.
What I am doing wrong?
Best wishes
Joe |
|
|
PCM programmer
Joined: 06 Sep 2003 Posts: 21708
|
|
Posted: Tue Apr 05, 2016 11:23 pm |
|
|
Well, if you're running MPLAB vs. 8.92 or something similar (not MPLAB X)
you should be able to go to the Project / Select Language Toolsuite menu
and the Project / Select Language Tool Locations, and make sure
everything is correct.
If upon compiling you get the installer, I'd suggest that you probably
have the executable (in Select Language Tool Locations) set to the
installer instead of the compiler. |
|
|
gjs_rsdi
Joined: 06 Feb 2006 Posts: 468 Location: Bali
|
|
Posted: Tue Apr 05, 2016 11:58 pm |
|
|
Thank you PCM programmer
Like always you are right
Best wishes
Joe |
|
|
gjs_rsdi
Joined: 06 Feb 2006 Posts: 468 Location: Bali
|
|
Posted: Mon May 30, 2016 12:14 am |
|
|
After one month with the demo compiler I get to conclusion that I don't need the V3.249
The CCS PCM C Compiler, Version 5.056d, 1 compiles my old programs.
I also got to conclusion that the Wizard giving sometimes wrong selections (port A pull-ups on 16F1847 for example) so maybe better to make the initialization alone based on the data sheet and the devices headers.
Thank for all who helped me in the subject
Joe |
|
|
|