CCS C Software and Maintenance Offers
FAQFAQ   FAQForum Help   FAQOfficial CCS Support   SearchSearch  RegisterRegister 

ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

CCS does not monitor this forum on a regular basis.

Please do not post bug reports on this forum. Send them to support@ccsinfo.com

Checking sequence using if statement

 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    CCS Forum Index -> General CCS C Discussion
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
PCM programmer



Joined: 06 Sep 2003
Posts: 21708

View user's profile Send private message

PostPosted: Mon Mar 21, 2011 12:50 pm     Reply with quote

Quote:
#define IR1 Pin_A0


if (!IR1 & IR2)

That is not the correct method to read and test a pin.
Download the CCS manual:
http://www.ccsinfo.com/downloads/ccs_c_manual.pdf
Go to this section:
Quote:
BUILT-IN-FUNCTIONS

Then look in this sub-section:
Quote:
DISCRETE I/O

You will see a list of all functions for doing i/o operations on PIC pins.
To read a pin, use the input() function. Look in the CCS manual before
doing anything. There will be a function specifically for it.

There is one more problem (in that area of your code). You are using
"bitwise" operators. If you want to do logical testing, then you should use
logical operators.
ycho87



Joined: 11 Mar 2011
Posts: 7

View user's profile Send private message

PostPosted: Tue Mar 22, 2011 3:44 am     Reply with quote

Hi PCM Programmer,

Thanks for your reply

Below is the modified code.
Code:

#include <16f877a.h>
#use delay(clock=20000000)
#fuses hs,noprotect,nowdt,nolvp
#define use_portb_lcd TRUE
#include <lcd.c>
#define PWR_LED Pin_A5
#define IR1 Pin_A0
#define PWR_LED1 PIN_E0
#define IR2 Pin_A1

void main()

   int interrupt = 0;
   int interrupt1 = 0;
   set_tris_a(0b00000011);
   lcd_init();

   lcd_putc("\fAutomatic Room");
   lcd_putc("\nLight Controller");
   delay_ms(5000);
   lcd_putc("\f");

   lcd_gotoxy(1,1);
   lcd_putc("People in =    0\n");
   lcd_putc("People out =   0\n");
   
     do{
   
if (input(IR1)==0 && input(IR2==1))
   {
while(input(IR1)==1 ^ input(IR2)==1);
if (input(IR1)==0 && input(IR2)==0)
{
while(input(IR1)==0 && input(IR2)==0);
if (input(IR1)==1 & input(IR2)==0)

{
interrupt += 1;
lcd_gotoxy(14,1);
printf(lcd_putc,"%3u",interrupt);
}
while(input(IR1)==1 ^ input(IR2)==1);
}
   }
         
   }while(1);


}

  ;


The LCD show the counting now, but it only can count up to 1.
What is the problem?
thank you
ckielstra



Joined: 18 Mar 2004
Posts: 3680
Location: The Netherlands

View user's profile Send private message

PostPosted: Wed Mar 23, 2011 10:28 am     Reply with quote

As a suggestion: You will get better and quicker responses when you make sure the program you post is well formatted. The indentation in your program is now jumping left and right which makes it very difficult to read.

Code:
      if (input(IR1)==0 && input(IR2==1))
I am surprised this line did compile without warning or error code. Fix the bad placed ')' character.

Code:
            if (input(IR1)==1 & input(IR2)==0)
Here, again, you should replace the 'binary AND' by a 'logical AND' . Personally I like to add a few more braces to clarify the operators belonging together:
Code:
            if ((input(IR1)==1) && (input(IR2)==0))
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    CCS Forum Index -> General CCS C Discussion All times are GMT - 6 Hours
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group