CCS C Software and Maintenance Offers
FAQFAQ   FAQForum Help   FAQOfficial CCS Support   SearchSearch  RegisterRegister 

ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

CCS does not monitor this forum on a regular basis.

Please do not post bug reports on this forum. Send them to support@ccsinfo.com

New to PIC programming...
Goto page 1, 2  Next

View previous topic :: View next topic  
SBS

New to PIC programming...
PostPosted: Mon Aug 15, 2005 11:02 am     Reply with quote

Hi,

I'm working on my startup business and I'll be using the PIC processor in my product. I am going to be using one of the higher pin count chips 30-40 pins. The PIC processor will need to interface with the following:

- Analog to Digital Converter
- LCD driver/screen
- Keypad
- RS232

I'm leaning towards the windows compiler since I have very little PIC programing experience. I have a few very basic questions that I hope you will be able to help with.

1) The PICW compiler does NOT include any sort of emulation, correct?

2) Can I use the PICW compiler to download the code to my PIC processor? Or do I need a separate piece of software?

3) From the pictures on your website, it doesn't look like the high pin count PIC that I'll be using will fit into any of your programmers. Is this correct?

4) I haven't found any programmers on the internet that will accomodate the high pin count PICs. What do you suggest?

5) What kind of info does the ICD (in circuit debubber) give me? Does that work with the PICW compiler?

6) Do you know anything about in-circuit programming? That is, re-programming the processor after it is already soldered into the circuit?

I hope you can help me with these questions. Thanks for your time.
jds-pic

Re: New to PIC programming...
PostPosted: Mon Aug 15, 2005 11:41 am     Reply with quote

SBS wrote:
I am going to be using one of the higher pin count chips 30-40 pins.

ok.

SBS wrote: